• OutOfMemoryError: PermGen space on fresh WIndows 7 install

• Problems with installing OpenKM? No problemo, the solution is closer than you think.
Problems with installing OpenKM? No problemo, the solution is closer than you think.
Forum rules: Please, before asking something see the documentation wiki or use the search feature of the forum. And remember we don't have a crystal ball or mental readers, so if you post about an issue tell us which OpenKM are you using and also the browser and operating system version. For more info read How to Report Bugs Effectively.
 #10330  by cakewipe

Hi, I am new to openKM but have been developing in Java for a 7 years. Im running Java 1.6.0_21 on my windows 7 64 bit machine.
I've seen other posts where people hit this same issue and they've had to increase their permspace in their run.bat file...
Here's how my run.bat file looks with my new modifications (in bold)...
Code: Select all
REM Add bin/native to the PATH if present
if exist "%JBOSS_HOME%\bin\native" set PATH=%JBOSS_HOME%\bin\native;%PATH%
if exist "%JBOSS_HOME%\bin\native" set JAVA_OPTS=%JAVA_OPTS% -Xms256m -Xmx2048m -XX:PermSize=256m -XX:MaxPermSize=1024m -Djava.awt.headless=true -Djava.library.path="%PATH%"
to get it to even run without errors, I had to create a JAVA_HOME variable and add the java lib directory to my class path and the java bin directory to my path in my environment variables... These are all things I had to do that WEREN'T in the quickrun guide. which is understandable because these are Java install issues NOT openKM... Now I'm getting TONS! of PermGen space errors even after I increased my PermSize quite a bit!!!! It wouldn't even start up completely until I boosted my PermSize, now I get the PermGen error whenever I login, try to upload a file, and pretty much every other action.
Is there a problem with this running on a 64 bit processor/operating system?