OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Problems with installing OpenKM? No problemo, the solution is closer than you think.
Forum rules
Please, before asking something see the documentation wiki or use the search feature of the forum. And remember we don't have a crystal ball or mental readers, so if you post about an issue tell us which OpenKM are you using and also the browser and operating system version. For more info read How to Report Bugs Effectively.
Fendy
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:09 am

OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by Fendy »

i have problem about installation openkm-6.2.0-community, after the installation completed.Could you help me why i can't access http://localhost:8080/OpenKM?

hereby the screenshot of my monitor:
Image

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11204
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by jllort »

Seems you have started application, any error in log ? which is your OS and at which path you have installed ?

Fendy
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:09 am

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by Fendy »

The installation of OpenKM-6.2.0-community has been succeed, but now i can't connecting the OpenKM-6.2.0-community from PC's client. Could you please help me immediately?

Thanks,

macjaeger
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:30 am

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by macjaeger »

Is OpenKM installed on the same machine from which you try to connect? Is it linux or windows? Is tomcat started? Are there any errors in tomcats logfile?

Bytheway: that screenshot of your computer - i can't read anything on it.

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11204
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by jllort »

in $TOMCAT_HOME/conf/server.xml you should change address="127.0.0.1" to "0.0.0.0"

sorry but we have not yet completed all documentation in wiki

davorsuker
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by davorsuker »

Thanks for the new community version. I have tried several versions these day. Finally I chose 5.1.10 before I saw 6.2.0.
I know you are very busy. The documents haven't been updated now. I have a quesion about how to migrate 5.1.10 to 6.2.0? There is no guide now. And now openKM uses Tomcat in 6.x. I don't know how to config it.
Thanks.

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11204
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by jllort »

Repository exporter 5.1.11 is compatible with repository importer at 6.2.x ( if you have metadata mark, if you want to import all document versions mark history )

Then you should migrate users ( hsql queries ):

Code: Select all

SELECT 'INSERT INTO OKM_USER (USR_ID, USR_NAME, USR_PASSWORD, USR_EMAIL, USR_ACTIVE) VALUES (''' + USR_ID + ''', ''' + USR_NAME + ''', ''' + USR_PASSWORD + ''', ''' + USR_EMAIL + ''', ''' + USR_ACTIVE + ''');' FROM OKM_USER;
SELECT 'INSERT INTO OKM_ROLE (ROL_ID, ROL_ACTIVE) VALUES (''ROLE_' + ROL_ID + ''', ''' + ROL_ACTIVE + ''');' FROM OKM_ROLE;
SELECT 'INSERT INTO OKM_USER_ROLE (UR_USER, UR_ROLE) VALUES (''' + UR_USER + ''', ''ROLE_' + UR_ROLE + ''');' FROM OKM_USER_ROLE;
And grant names

Code: Select all

UPDATE OKM_NODE_ROLE_PERMISSION SET NRP_ROLE='ROLE_USER' WHERE NRP_ROLE = 'UserRole';
UPDATE OKM_NODE_ROLE_PERMISSION SET NRP_ROLE='ROLE_ADMIN' WHERE NRP_ROLE = 'AdminRole';
I suggest you waiting we finishing this section about how doing it ... I'm not totally sure if it's needed something more, this sure it's necessary.

davorsuker
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by davorsuker »

Thanks for your reply. Take your time.
I have a question about "Compact history" function. It seems it isn't discussed a lot in the forum.
I am realy afraid that some users will delete all the history version of a file. Is it a way to avoid it? Or we can export or backup the file versions?
Thanks and have a good weekend.

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11204
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by jllort »

In professional version the security is extensible and can be added security property called compact, in comunity is not present and any user with write grants can compact it. With community version we have shared two extensions, impiring on it you could try make your own history panel with your own rules.

About export, fromversion 5.1.x ( I do not remember the exact version ) is possible to export documents with all history version.

stiebs
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:26 pm

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by stiebs »

So has the community version shifted from JBoss to Tomcat?

stiebs
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:26 pm

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by stiebs »

I managed to get 6.2 up and going pretty painlessly, but the mobile version doesn't work for me - I just get the full desktop version rendered on my phone and tablet. Is there a setting somewhere that I need to do to force mobile version?

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11204
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by jllort »

Mobile version from 5.x to 6.x has not been updated. Basically from version 5.x to 6.x has several changes on search engine and the mobile feature needs some working. If anyone can help on it adapting version 5.x to 6.x is wellcome.

Stormspace
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:23 pm

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by Stormspace »

Fendy wrote:i have problem about installation openkm-6.2.0-community, after the installation completed.Could you help me why i can't access http://localhost:8080/OpenKM?

hereby the screenshot of my monitor:
Image
I have this same error.

OS: Windows 7 Prof

What I've done so far trying to use localhost:
1) Installed the Java JDK
2) Installed OpenKM from the exe on the download page.
3) Tried to use the 0.0.0.0 fix listed above.
4) Tried to run the application directly from the catalina.bat file instead of using the short cuts created on the desktop.
5) Tried running all batch files above as admin

Things I noticed:
1) The Wiki refers to JBoss quite a bit, that doesn't seem to install with the 6.2 package on windows.
2) The default install folder is in the Program Files folder.
3) I cannot find the \bin\run.bat file to set up the access from other computers.

Right now I'm working on a proof of concept before investing any money, so if I can't get this one working I'll try another. However this app seems like the best one out there, so any help would be appreciated.

macjaeger
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:30 am

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by macjaeger »

Can you verify that tomcat (in 6.x it's tomcat instead of jboss) is running? Examine the windows tasklist and have a look inside the logs (found in openkm/tomcat/logs). If tomcat is running, but cannot be reached, there might be windows firewall troubles. If tomcat doesn't start at all, there must some other problem, perhaps missing java in path.

From my experience, running a web/app server in Linux is easier than in Windows; I do all testing in a virtual machine running ubuntu 12.04, and so far I'm delighted - allthough I have to stick to community edition for now.

bob.hume
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: OpenKM-6.2.0-community

Post by bob.hume »

Stormspace,

I had the same problem after installing 6.2 community on Win Server 2008. I was able to trace it down by looking at the start up messages in the cmd window created when starting the Tomcat server. The problem appeared to be caused by the "program files" directory in the "JAVA_HOME" path having an embedded blank in the name. The "JAVA_HOME" environmental variable is defined in the setenv.bat file located in the OpenKM-6.2.0-community\tomcat\bin directory. I just used the 8.3 name (mine is "progra~1") to fix it, but I'm sure that quotes could be added to the string to fix it instead.

Hope it helps.

Post Reply