Page 1 of 1

Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Sun Mar 18, 2018 9:42 pm
by omegagr
Hello, I have installed OpenKM community in a server that my university gave me, as my thesis is about open source document management systems and I chose OpenKM as my subject.
Though the installation went well, I have dificculties regarding how to create and upload workflows there.
Should I install the OpenKM Portable Development Environment there, or can I have it in my pc and then copy somehow the .par file onto the server and where exactly?

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:43 pm
by dferguson
I have struggled to get workflows working as well. The documentation is somewhat lacking to be completely inclusive. Workflows are pretty advanced and I have had best success by using the portable development environment. It allows you to connect directly to your OpenKM instance and deploy workflows directly from there. You can also export the par file, but my experience is that it is easier to deploy through the portable dev directly to OpenKM.

As for creating workflows start at lesson 1 and work to the end. If I get impatient and skip an exercise it always creates more confusion.

https://www.openkm.com/wiki/index.php/Workflow_Course

search here for "workflow"

https://www.youtube.com/user/openkm/videos

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:19 pm
by omegagr
Thanks so much for your reply, I am still puzzled whether I should stick to the "server" solution by deploying the portable development environment there too, or should I install everything in my laptop for the research purposes I am interested in and avoid all the trouble. :?:

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:57 pm
by dferguson
I have done both. I have settled on installing the portable dev on a virtual machine separate from the machine which only runs OpenKM. That makes backup and maintenance of OpenKM easier and less messier if I have to rebuild and frees up my portable dev environment for me to experiment and try risky solutions before deploying.

Pointing the portable dev environment to your OpenKM on a separate machine and deploying workflows there is super easy...

In the workflow's *.jpdl.xml there is a Deployment tab. Under the Server Settings just type in the Server Name in IP form (XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX), port (usually 8080), and Server Deployer as "/OpenKM/workflow-register". Works every time for me as long as they are on the same subnet.

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:44 pm
by jllort
We have also released a virtual machine what comes with everything, might be you are interested in replacing older development environment, take a look here https://www.openkm.com/en/download.html

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Tue May 01, 2018 7:49 pm
by omegagr
dferguson wrote: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:57 pm
Pointing the portable dev environment to your OpenKM on a separate machine and deploying workflows there is super easy...

In the workflow's *.jpdl.xml there is a Deployment tab. Under the Server Settings just type in the Server Name in IP form (XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX), port (usually 8080), and Server Deployer as "/OpenKM/workflow-register". Works every time for me as long as they are on the same subnet.
Sorry for being ignorant, but I will tell you what I have done and maybe you can help me.
I have installed the portable dev environment in my laptop and created my first workflow according to this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Goaej24S3v8
Now how can I transfer that workflow to the community edition that I have on a server?
I have typed the Server IP and all the other details in the xml as you described.

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Thu May 03, 2018 4:03 pm
by jllort
At the end of the workflow, you will generate a .par file ( when workflow diagram is selected in the top menus you have an option to generate it ). You can register this par file to the application from the Administration > Worfklow.

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:00 pm
by omegagr
Ok I have made it so far in deploying workflows on my server from the openkm-dev.
The problem I face now is that when I make a class in my own projects (even copy paste the code to do the exercises) and add it to the classes and resources field in deployment tab, I get the message "There was a problem creating the process to deploy".
When I remove the class - classes the project is deployed.
Any clues out there?

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:58 pm
by jllort
If you can share with us some log might be we can help you. Also some small video will be welcome for understanding where is the class in your project and how are you adding it.

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:01 pm
by omegagr
Here is the log I got from my server Tomcat 7.0.61>logs regarding the time I made the video to show you the problem:
Code: Select all
2018-06-20 21:30:00,016 [Thread-46309] [] INFO  com.openkm.core.UserMailImporter - *** User mail importer activated ***
2018-06-20 21:30:26,797 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-232] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Deploying process archive: dummy.par
2018-06-20 21:30:26,906 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-232] [] INFO  c.o.util.FormUtils$LocalResolver - resolveEntity(publicId=-//OpenKM//DTD Workflow Forms 2.4//EN, systemId=http://www.openkm.com/dtd/workflow-forms-2.4.dtd) => C:\tomcat-7.0.61\webapps\OpenKM\WEB-INF\classes\dtd\workflow-forms-2.4.dtd
2018-06-20 21:30:26,922 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-232] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Status: Process formWorkflow deployed successfully
2018-06-20 21:34:48,906 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-205] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Deploying process archive: dummy.par
2018-06-20 21:34:49,125 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-205] [] INFO  c.o.util.FormUtils$LocalResolver - resolveEntity(publicId=-//OpenKM//DTD Workflow Forms 2.4//EN, systemId=http://www.openkm.com/dtd/workflow-forms-2.4.dtd) => C:\tomcat-7.0.61\webapps\OpenKM\WEB-INF\classes\dtd\workflow-forms-2.4.dtd
2018-06-20 21:34:49,203 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-205] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Status: Process formWorkflow deployed successfully
2018-06-20 21:37:29,516 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-158] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Deploying process archive: dummy.par
2018-06-20 21:37:29,797 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-158] [] INFO  c.o.util.FormUtils$LocalResolver - resolveEntity(publicId=-//OpenKM//DTD Workflow Forms 2.4//EN, systemId=http://www.openkm.com/dtd/workflow-forms-2.4.dtd) => C:\tomcat-7.0.61\webapps\OpenKM\WEB-INF\classes\dtd\workflow-forms-2.4.dtd
2018-06-20 21:37:29,812 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-158] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Status: Process formWorflow deployed successfully
2018-06-20 21:39:18,453 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-214] [] INFO  com.openkm.spring.LoggerListener - Authentication ERROR: okmAdmin
2018-06-20 21:40:16,984 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-206] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Deploying process archive: dummy.par
2018-06-20 21:40:17,187 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-206] [] INFO  c.o.util.FormUtils$LocalResolver - resolveEntity(publicId=-//OpenKM//DTD Workflow Forms 2.4//EN, systemId=http://www.openkm.com/dtd/workflow-forms-2.4.dtd) => C:\tomcat-7.0.61\webapps\OpenKM\WEB-INF\classes\dtd\workflow-forms-2.4.dtd
2018-06-20 21:40:17,234 [http-apr-0.0.0.0-8080-exec-206] [] INFO  c.o.servlet.WorkflowRegisterServlet - Status: Process formWorflow deployed successfully
I really think there is no problem with the deploying to the server, because I cannot even save the process archive (the .par file)
I noticed that the problem is the Decision node, when I remove the Decision Java class from the Deployment tab the process is deployed.
I have made a small video here: https://1drv.ms/v/s!Athg02pkRHfJk3Lj-Uud29EbWFzU where I deploy the wf1 project from the workflow-course and then I try to do it with a identical one from my workflows projects.
The Java built path of my folder is set to openkm-6.3-community just like the workflow-course.
Thanks in advance.

Re: Creating Workflows

PostPosted:Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:12 am
by jllort
In the eclipse console is not shown any error. Basically if you remove Decision1.java class then it works, but if you add this one it fails. Seems there are not compilation errors. Sometimes eclipse goes crazy ( I suggest remove decision node and add again to be sure nothing hidden wrong is there )

Try to show the eclipse "Error log" tab might be there will show you more information.