Page 1 of 1

OpenKM deleting user appear in the user list in the security tab of this/these folder(s)

Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:25 am
by orxansalvador
I am running OpenKM 6.2. I have some problem when deleting user. I have lot of folders with specific security users and groups configured on a per folder basis. When I delete a user from users list, he is not removed from folder's security users list. If this deleted user had security permission on a folder or sub-folder, he still appear in the user list in the security tab of this/these folder(s).I need that permissions on folders/sub-folders are fixed at the time a user is deleted. Also we have already deleted a bunch of users, but they are still appearing in users permissions list of folders, we need this to be fixed as well, users that are not in users list any more should not appear in folder's security user list. It would be better if everything is fixed at the moment we delete a user from the user list, but if it is easier to have this fixed in an asynchronous process that run for example each night it would be ok also. The OpenKM implementation is in production, so we must be absolutely sure the system will continue to run without problem, it is not acceptable to have the system going down for a long time, or to loose any data.

Re: OpenKM deleting user appear in the user list in the security tab of this/these folder(s)

Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 8:24 pm
by jllort
First of all, having user or role applied into some node, when this user or role no longer exists in your system, is not dangerous, simply it doesn't have any use.

Imagine for example you delete a user by mistake, if we also delete all the security applied for him in the nodes you will not be able to recovering from it. That's the reason why, when you delete a user or role, this change is not propagated to the security nodes. Also take in mind, this user which no longer exists has created documents, this information will continuing being there for historical reason ( hope this point is clear ).

We'll in professional version we have a feature for deleting under demand the security applied for users and roles. In community edition must be done by hand from Database Search view. Basically with simple delete of the tables OKM_NODE_USER_PERMISSION and OKM_NODE_ROLE_PERMISSION

Execute this query and you quickly see the table structure
  • SELECT * FROM OKM_NODE_USER_PERMISSION limit 5;