Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

We tried to make OpenKM as intuitive as possible, but an advice is always welcome.
Forum rules
Please, before asking something see the documentation wiki or use the search feature of the forum. And remember we don't have a crystal ball or mental readers, so if you post about an issue tell us which OpenKM are you using and also the browser and operating system version. For more info read How to Report Bugs Effectively.
Post Reply
missg
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 6:13 pm

Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by missg » Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:32 pm

Hi there,
I have acquired a new fujitsu scansnap s1500, but unfortunately it doesn't work well on openkm. I cannot scan docs directly, openkm always try to look for my old scanner hp scanjet (flatbed). Is there any way for openkm to collaborate with scansnap?
:roll:

rgds,
-dewo-

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10347
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by jllort » Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:46 pm

if has twain support must runs with that scanner too ... seems it's some configuration problem with your computer, can you remove your older scanner or setting it as defaults ?

I recommend scanning, and passing some OCR program, and use OpenKM as network unit, not use scanner applet to massive scanning uploading, better using openkm as network computer and scanning there

missg
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by missg » Mon Aug 09, 2010 3:53 pm

i've clean up my old driver of hp scanner but still didnt work. and as workaround i just told operator to scan the docs then compressed. upload the zip file. by the way, scansnap did not support twain, it uses its own specific driver.

rgds,
-dewo-

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10347
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by jllort » Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:44 am

That could be the problem, I'm not the coder of scanner is on holidays and can not help more on it, but I know that scanner applet only support TWAIN and other standar protocol that I don't know the name ... if your scanner don't have any of these sure it'll not be run with applet.

As I suggest the best option is maping OpenKM as a network drive ( take a look at http://wiki.openkm.com/index.php/WebDAV_access ). A good scenario for scanner is make directly in network drive ( directly to OpenKM )

missg
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by missg » Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:31 am

thanks for the answer, i'll install the webdav apps, and suggest users to scan on this drive.

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10347
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by jllort » Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:50 pm

Another scenario might be scan into shared networking folder ( for example some one shared from the OpenKM server and then with a crontab script import ). In the documentation you can find some samples what going in this direction, for example these ones:
https://docs.openkm.com/kcenter/view/ok ... orter.html
https://docs.openkm.com/kcenter/view/ok ... alues.html
https://docs.openkm.com/kcenter/view/ok ... -rest.html

andy31
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:15 am

Re: Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by andy31 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:20 am

Hi,

What should I be careful when I connect the USB cable and What happens to the file when I scan multi-page documents?

Thanks

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10347
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: Scanning Document using ScanSnap S1500

Post by jllort » Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:56 am

It depends on what does the software of the scanner, might create single document for each page or in case multipage support might create single document ( PDF or TIFF what contains into the whole data ). In the import script you can take in consideration the present time comparing with last modified time for uploading or wait until the next import cycle.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests