Implementing if clause in Metadata

OpenKM has many interesting features, but requires some configuration process to show its full potential.
Forum rules
Please, before asking something see the documentation wiki or use the search feature of the forum. And remember we don't have a crystal ball or mental readers, so if you post about an issue tell us which OpenKM are you using and also the browser and operating system version. For more info read How to Report Bugs Effectively.
Post Reply
omegaites
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 1:00 pm

Implementing if clause in Metadata

Post by omegaites »

HI,
We want if clause in Metadata. Please let us know how to do that.
Example:-
Document type (DropDown)
a) NEW
b) Old
Now if someone closes Old, a text box will open for manual entry. But if someone chooses NEW, no box will be opened. So, if choose old, a text box will be added with Value “OLD”

Please help.
jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11512
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: Implementing if clause in Metadata

Post by jllort »

I think you are talking about select hierarchical relationships https://docs.openkm.com/kcenter/view/ok ... lationship ( but currently we only have implemented in professional edition still not shared in the community edition ).

Anyway if you have more complex logic, then should build your own form screen with JSP and apply there the complex logic. The forms always will come with basic logic, trying to do an implementation that cover all the possible logic is insane ( and a bad idea for the code and probably will not success with all the cases in the world ) ... better - for our point of view - implement the standard and complex logic be implemented as customization -> will work better and fit exactly your requirement

My suggestion is build your own jsp and integrate it with OpenKM with https://docs.openkm.com/kcenter/view/ok ... nsion.html ( how to enable here https://docs.openkm.com/kcenter/view/ok ... sions.html )

I have added an issue to implement extra tab in document, email and folder for better integration https://github.com/openkm/document-mana ... issues/281
jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11512
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: Implementing if clause in Metadata

Post by jllort »

We have implemented extra tab document etc... in the CE ( just added in this pull request https://github.com/openkm/document-mana ... m/pull/282 ), in the rest release you'll get available or you can compile current code to get it.
Post Reply