DNS change help

OpenKM has many interesting features, but requires some configuration process to show its full potential.
Forum rules
Please, before asking something see the documentation wiki or use the search feature of the forum. And remember we don't have a crystal ball or mental readers, so if you post about an issue tell us which OpenKM are you using and also the browser and operating system version. For more info read How to Report Bugs Effectively.
Post Reply
Shakes
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:42 pm

DNS change help

Post by Shakes » Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:16 pm

HI,

I have a dns alias called 'MyDomainName' that points to a server.

What I want to do is enter http://MyDomainName in a browser and for it to redirect to the openKM url.

Overview:

Https://mydomainname = openkm app

How does one achieve this?

Dan

michaeled
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:37 am

Re: DNS change help

Post by michaeled » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:05 pm

Maybe with a reverse proxy or mod_rewrite (apache) ? I dont´t try

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10672
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: DNS change help

Post by jllort » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:36 am

Take a look here http://wiki.openkm.com/index.php/Apache it's explained how do it.

Shakes
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:42 pm

Re: DNS change help

Post by Shakes » Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:59 am

jllort wrote:Take a look here http://wiki.openkm.com/index.php/Apache it's explained how do it.
thanks for your reply, Im a windows user and new to apache, however on the link under windows it tell me to install apache, i thought apache was already installed dubbed as tomcat?

michaeled
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:37 am

Re: DNS change help

Post by michaeled » Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:35 pm

No, you have to install apache (as a reverse proxy) on another (or the same) server. (It´s another non j2e server). For security raison you dont have to expose tomcat dirrectly

Shakes
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:42 pm

Re: DNS change help

Post by Shakes » Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:59 am

Guys, tried everything and I cant get rid of the port number, Ive followed the above link but no luck.

Any advice?

jllort
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10672
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am
Location: Sineu - ( Illes Balears ) - Spain
Contact:

Re: DNS change help

Post by jllort » Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:26 pm

Have you followed the instrucions for linux http://wiki.openkm.com/index.php/Apache#Windows
Ensure you got IIS stopped if you got installed
and change openkm.your-domain.com to your server IP

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests