Page 1 of 1

OpenKm-storage

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:23 pm
by ravikenn
Hello,

We are going to use OpenKm within our organization but before proceeding, wanted to know that, we are going to us AWS storage with Openkm/dms so in future if we make any change with storage provider/server like server change/DC change or location then how do we need to move or stored data from one service provider to another service provider or how to change/move stored data from one location to another location or server? Will there be any data loss or any problem for which will have to worry about it?

We will install Openkm on EC2 instance and will use S3 storage for openkm.

I hope you will understand our query and advise us accordingly.

Thanks,

Ravi

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:00 am
by ravikenn
Hi,

Received your support reply to my mail.

"There is not problem, this is solved using the following feature http://wiki.openkm.com/index.php/Repository_export"

Will try it, thanks.

Ravi.

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:45 am
by ravikenn
Hi,

One more query. Suppose we are using remote backup which is mounted on the linux web server where the Openkm is installed. We set repository.home=remote/backup/dir in Openkm.cfg and if in case our linux web server get crashed (where Openkm/DMS is installed) then we can setup new server by installing openkm on it no doubt. But can we set repository.home=remote/backup/dir as it is and access the data as it was with previous linux web server ?

Thanks,

Ravi.

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:15 am
by jllort
You can use OpenKM in Amazon AWS and S3 storage ( but for performance reason, the server which is using S3 storage must be at Amazon, otherwise you will get a poor perfomance ).

About repository home in remote folder for backup, I do not understand what you have in mind ? Configure repository home for best performance and then think how to backup on a remote server etc...

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 6:38 am
by ravikenn
Hello,

Thanks for the reply and sorry for the confusion.

We want to set repository path as a remote storage server location/directory in openkm.cfg file. Our query is suppose we want to reinstalled Openkm installation for any reason or want to install/move Openkm on another server in that case, can use our exiting repository with the same stored data with new installation or another Openkm installed server? Can we access the old repository data as its with new installation or another server?

As we have tried to do the same but unable to access the data from old repo using new installation. What we did is, we installed Openkm and configured home repo in openkm.cfg that is /root/openrepo then we removed openkm installation. After that we have again installed Openkm and configured home repo as it was previously that is /root/openrepo in openkm.cfg but unable to access the files/data which we have uploaded previously.

I hope you can understand now.

Ravi.

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 6:45 am
by ravikenn
Hello,

further, we can export/import the data as you said in previous mail/update. But suppose, front end openkm installation get corrupted or crashed for any reason and can not export the the data/repo. In this case how can we access the stored data? Can we setup new openkm installation and access old repo as its with new installation or server ? If yes then how?

Please advise us.

Thanks,

Ravi.

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 7:12 am
by jllort
If installation is corrupted and only affected webapp -> then simply should replace damaged installation files - OpenKM.war - clean webapp/OpenKM folder and work/Catalina/localhost and start application again ( basically do new installation with same version, with same OpenKM.cfg !!!! otherwise you will get creation and entire repository will be deleted and use repository folder and same database connection ).

We suggest do some simulation in other server. And before playing with production make backups and be sure you are able to restore correctly.

You are doing something wrong sure. Take in mind application needs repository folder and also database ( if you have not changed default installation it comes also into repository folder ). Be care with OpenKM.cfg -> by default hibernate.hbml = create ( if you start with this parameter value, entire repository will be deleted ).

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:40 pm
by jhonny_1904
Hi Raven,

Can you inform me the result with this scenario?
Do you possible to connect openkm with AWS S3?
ravikenn wrote:
Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:23 pm
Hello,

We are going to use OpenKm within our organization but before proceeding, wanted to know that, we are going to us AWS storage with Openkm/dms so in future if we make any change with storage provider/server like server change/DC change or location then how do we need to move or stored data from one service provider to another service provider or how to change/move stored data from one location to another location or server? Will there be any data loss or any problem for which will have to worry about it?

We will install Openkm on EC2 instance and will use S3 storage for openkm.

I hope you will understand our query and advise us accordingly.

Thanks,

Ravi

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 9:47 pm
by jllort
It is possible when the OpenKM application is into an Amazon server.

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 5:10 am
by jhonny_1904
Hi Jlort,

My requirement is, i want to install openkm in a server in my data center.
Also i have and private HCP(hitachi object stroage) in the data center as well. This HCP works similar like AWS S3.
Is it possible to instal in on prem server and connect to HCP S3?
If possible, where can i inser the access key?

Re: OpenKm-storage

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:28 am
by pavila
Right now OpenKM only supports filesystem and database datastore, but you can mount other storages as a filesystem in Linux. In https://cloud.netapp.com/blog/amazon-s3 ... ile-system you can find more information. In this other article you learn more about one of the options https://tecadmin.net/mount-s3-bucket-ce ... sing-s3fs/. Actually I've not tested any of them, so I can't help configuring any of them.

Regards.